The 8 limbs

Updated: Mar 4, 2019

The name “8 Limbs” comes from the Sanskrit term Ashtanga and refers to the eight limbs of yoga: Yama (attitudes toward our environment), Niyama (attitudes toward ourselves), Asana (physical postures), Pranayama (restraint or expansion of the breath), Pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (complete integration). Over the next few weeks we are going to look at each of the 8 limbs in more detail.

Yoga is far more than just asana and those crazy, weird and wonderful images that you see 'on the gram'. Living yoga means integrating the principles of yoga into your thoughts, words and actions; it means taking yoga beyond your mat. Come back soon to learn more as we delve into each of the limbs individually.

#ahtangayoga #lifeofayogi #ohm #yogasutras

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All